Friday, September 13, 2013

DNR Western U.P. Advisory Council to meet Sept. 16 in Spalding

MARQUETTE -- The Department of Natural Resources’ Western Upper Peninsula Citizens' Advisory Council (CAC) will meet in Menominee County on Monday, Sept. 16, at the Normenco Sportsman’s Club, located on Normenco Road in Spalding.

Beginning at 4:30 p.m. CDT (5:30 p.m. EDT), DNR staff will present division reports on current DNR projects and business and answer questions from council members and the public. The council meeting will immediately follow from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. CDT (6 p.m. to 8 p.m. EDT).

Agenda items include:
  •  2013 deer season forecast
  • Update on wolf hunting season
  • Upper Peninsula Deer Advisory Team report
  • Update on status of hunting and fishing license fee restructuring
  • Public comment (for public comment instructions, see
The Eastern Upper Peninsula and Western Upper Peninsula CACs are designed to advise the DNR on regional programs and policies; identify areas in which the department can be more effective and responsive; and offer insight and guidance from members’ own experiences and constituencies.

The council members represent a wide variety of natural resource and recreation stakeholders and interest groups. Agenda items are set by the council members, and council recommendations are forwarded to the DNR for consideration.

CAC meetings are open to the public. If you would like to be considered as a future CAC member, please fill out the nomination form found on the DNR website at For more information, contact DNR Upper Peninsula Regional Coordinator Stacy Welling Haughey at 906-228-6561.

No comments: